We eat a LOT of pasta in my house. By a LOT, I mean probably 3+ times a week. That’s probably not the best thing for the waistline, ya know, with all the carbs. But I guess I’ve always thought it was better than sitting down and eating a pound of bacon or something else fried…

So out of my frustration of preparing to make tortellini for dinner and realizing I didn’t have any more pasta sauce, I decided I could just wing it with a can of tomatoes I already had on hand. I pretty much ONLY watch PBS’s Create cooking shows on tv, so I’m a damn chef now, right? (I’m sure Lidia Bastianich and that hunk of man, Nick Stellino would agree!) It ended up being so much more flavorful than a jar of store-bought and I’m sure it was quite a bit healthier considering all the veggies I threw in!

This recipe isn’t an exact science. The measurements don’t have to be exact. If you hate garlic, don’t put it in. If you want mushrooms, toss em in! From what I’ve gathered, you can pretty much throw in the kitchen sink and it will probably taste good!

Ingredients:

  1. One 15.5 oz can of diced tomatoes, undrained – I used Hunts Italian Style tomatoes, because I couldn’t find the Dei Fratelli brand I normally get. Most people cut up fresh tomatoes, but I think you would have to cook the sauce longer and I am just not a patient person!
  2. 2 cloves of garlic
  3. 4-5 Mini Sweet Peppers – I think regular red peppers would work, but I like the sweet ones!
  4. One small onion
  5. A pinch of oregano
  6. A pinch of sea salt (to taste)
  7. A few grinds of fresh black pepper
  8. A tablespoon or so of extra virgin olive oil
  9. A tablespoon or so of brown sugar (optional, if you like your sauce a little sweeter)

Directions:

  1. Roughly chop all ingredients and put into your food processor or blender. Blend for a few minutes until it is as smooth as you can get it.
  2. Pour your sauce into a saucepan and heat it over low to medium heat until it begins to start gently bubbling, about 10 minutes or so, and serve!

NOTE:  The sauce can sometimes be a little “juicy” so I like to serve it with crusty garlic bread to dip and soak up some of the juices.
You can also drain the tomatoes, I suppose. But I was afraid it would end up like salsa if I did.
Let me know if you try it with them drained!

Leave a Reply

