In case you hadn’t caught on, I’m a lady.

Thankfully, I cannot grow a beard or a mustache, so I can’t participate in Novembeard or Movember. I can’t say that I’m terribly disappointed that my husband is not participating either. I mean, I’ll donate towards cancer research, by all means… But does a man have to look like Burt Reynolds in the meantime?

What’s next, Mullet-cember?

So what else does November signify to most people? I’m going to vote food.

It’s the beginning of the glutton cold weather season. We already had flakes here this morning and last weekend, of course it was when our Trail Blazer decided it wanted to forgo having 3rd and 4th gears, so my poor hubster was out in that mess (no garage) wrenching on a car.

Here in Ohio, November is also the beginning of hibernation for a lot of people. It’s dark and cold outside, so we usually prefer to stay inside and eat things. Not to mention the cluster of food-oriented winter holidays; Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year, Valentine’s Day… It’s a wonder we don’t all look like Gilbert Grape’s mom by Easter.

I also loooooove to cook! I love trying new recipes and I love adding my own twists to things. I usually never make anything the same way twice! So for this week’s post, I thought I’d share a few of my favorite winter hibernation meals! A-la “Delicious Dish” via Saturday Night Live!

But without Alec Baldwin.


 Chicken Chili

Photo by TeresaS

Cincinnati, Ohio is the “chili capital of the world,” and I think this recipe beats the pants off of anything outta Cincy I’ve ever had. Not to toot my own horn, bu I won 2 chili cook-offs with my beef chili recipe, but seriously, this chicken one is so much better. And… to help relieve some of the guilt, it’s also a Weight Watcher’s recipe. I served it at a few of my get-togethers and most people are floored when I tell them it’s a WW recipe. It’s also a crock pot recipe (my favorite on days where I don’t feel like cleaning my kitchen at night!), so there is almost zero prep time. Get the recipe here.


Tomato Soup & Grilled Cheese

photo from http://www.marthastewart.com

My grandma made me a grilled cheese sandwich every day after school when I was in elementary school. When I was in middle and high school, by request, my dad made me one almost every day for breakfast. (I’m not a huge breakfast-food fan.) So needless to say, a good grilled cheese is probably one of my favorite things in the world. There’s even a grilled cheese restaurant in Columbus now, Melt Bar & Grilled that I can’t freaking wait to check out!

Now throw Martha Stewart into the mix and it’s like a slice of heaven! (Yes, I do love Martha. She was a vixen in her younger days! Not that she isn’t now.) This is her recipe for homemade tomato soup and grilled cheese.


Tuna Noodle Casserole

photo from http://www.allrecipes.com

I like my Tuna Noodle Casserole like I like my men; Hot and Cheesy! This is a super fast & easy, one-pot meal. You don’t have to bake it in the oven, although you certainly can if you wanted to. I also found that getting the American cheese freshly sliced at the deli counter makes this that much more amazing.


Potato Soup

photo from http://www.recipe-diaries.com

More good news! This recipe is also a WW recipe and probably also one of the easiest. Again you would never in a million years guess this is a “diet” recipe. (But, if you prefer you could opt for the full fat versions of the soup and cream cheese.) It’s a crock pot recipe and only has 6 ingredients! This is comfort food at its finest! Check out the recipe here!


Beer Bread

photo from http://www.epicurious.com

I never tried making beer bread until a few years ago. I grew up with a bread machine and remember how much work some of those mediocre-tasting loaves took. So I guess I was always kind of afraid of trying any sort of bread on my own. Well I finally decided, if it sucks I’ll just chuck it out. This recipe only calls for 6 ingredients that we always have around the house! There are a lot of breweries here in Columbus, so now that I have this recipe down pat, I’m really eager to start trying some micro brews in my bread!

Check out the recipe here!

Helpful Beer Bread Tips:

  • Always use room-temperature beer!
  • Darker beers always make better tasting beer bread!
  • When picking a beer, if you have to for whatever reason use a major name brand of swill, (Budweiser, Miller, PBR etc…) please forgo the “light” version!

Mexican-Style Pork and Sweet Potato Slow Cooker Stew

photo from http://www.weightwatchers.com

Yes, another WW recipe that I swear does not taste like a diet meal! There is something about the sweet potatoes and the kick from the fire roasted tomatoes. I also usually add a little heat with some hot sauce or cracked red pepper. This is slowly becoming one of my favorites. It’s really different, it’s pretty easy and fairly inexpensive. You also get to roast a poblano pepper yourself, which is always Travis’ favorite part! Recipe here.


Chili Mac

photo from http://www.weightwatchers.com

This is shockingly one of the few beef recipes I have. And I actually swap out beef for ground turkey most of the time. Who doesn’t love Chili Mac?! Another WW recipe so you can eat without the guilt. This is another one I spice up quite a bit with Sriracha or anything else with some heat I’ve got around the house. This is also a one-pot meal, which is a Christmas miracle in my kitchen since all I have is an apartment-size dishwasher and I HATE having to hand wash dishes.

Not because it’s a pain it the ass, but because it’s gross. Hand washing isn’t as effective as dishwashers. In order to actually sanitize dishes (without the use of bleach), they need to be washed in water at 140 degrees, and most home’s hot water heaters only reach 120 to prevent burns. Also if your appliance is Energy Star rated, it uses less water than hand washing your dishes. True story: Articles about that Here and Here! Get the Chili Mac recipe here!


Please try some of these out! I swear you’ll be a fan! For those of you that are on Pinterest, I have a lots of recipes pinned to my Noms board. I also have tons of waistline-friendly recipes on my Get the Skinny board! I always try to make sure the links to the actual recipes are good and do my best to curate my boards and keep up with dead links!

Got any good winter-warm-me-up recipes to share? Feel free to comment below, Tweet at me or drop me a line here!

Leave a Reply

